Maria Athanasiou elected as Young ICCA Co-chair

We are pleased to announce that Maria Athanasiou has been elected as the next Young ICCA Co-chair. 


Maria welcomed the news of the election, saying "I am very honoured to have been elected as the new Co-chair and truly grateful for the support and confidence placed in me by the Young ICCA community. I look forward to working hard together with the entire Young ICCA family. My aim is to further contribute to the organization’s mission, which is to effectively provide students and young practitioners, from all corners of the world, direct access to the practice of international arbitration, in view of current challenges, but also opportunities.”


Maria will serve as Co-chair alongside Theominique Nottage and Matthew Morantz, whose terms end in July 2021 and June 2022 respectively.


The two candidates up for election were Maria and Ana Coimbra Trigo. We’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate both Maria and Ana on being the top two candidates and to thank them for participating in this year’s remarkably close election.


Maria will take office immediately, succeeding current Co-chair Panagiotis Chalkias. Panos has been an asset to the Young ICCA community over the past two years. We thank him for his contributions to Young ICCA and wish him the best of luck in all his future endeavours.


Interested in getting to know the new Co-chair? View Maria's full profile here.

Open Graph image